Where we live

My hope is that you read this one day in Israel; that you will merge this with what you have learned in the history books about the wars we used to have here; because when you read this now there are no more wars in Israel. Are there still wars? Did my dream for you come true?

Yoni, you’re only one year old now and you’ve already gone through your first mini-war. You won’t remember this but last November we had to take you out of your bed a few times and run into the staircase with you because rockets were being fired at us. We were scared. You were quite brave, you kept on dozing. 

Now there are signs that we’ll have war again; so many signs. There doesn’t seem to be a way to avoid it. Nobody wants it but still it will happen. Can you understand the logic of that! As if wars are something that the Gods compel us earthlings to do – and we are powerless to stop ourselves from being puppets in their schemes, and so we fly into each other, kicking and screaming. People in ancient times and ancient lands like Greece and Rome believed that, that Gods were behind everything. I never believed it before, but I’m starting to wonder now…

This time, if and when war happens, we will have to run into the staircase with you again. I’m counting on you to be brave.

I wonder, often, if I’m doing wrong by you by bringing you up here, in our only country. I see what our enemies do to each other and I know what they would like to do to us if they could – then I look into your deep blue eyes and your innocent soft skin, your delicate head with its flowing golden hair – and I wonder if I should take you out of here.

But where would we go? Where’s safe? Who doesn’t have savages in their countries these days?

It’s true that there are savages everywhere, but we have the most, here.

Leave a Reply

